top of page
Search

WALK HEADS UP AND CHEST OUT - Sylvester Odame-Amoabeng


I am certain many of us had plans for 2020 and thus made new year resolutions. Two from my list: to complete all practice hours for the academic year and to embark on a holiday which was booked months in advance before commencing my new role as a staff nurse which I had secured in December 2019. In my mind, that blueprint was fool-proof because I was confident that it would require something really ‘huge’ to disrupt those plans. Then along comes SARS-CoV-2 and the rest is history.

Currently, in the home stretch of my nursing training, we were presented with two options: Opt-In or Out. In my house, there are two younger brothers, both as fit as can be, and my mother who is a nurse. Without any reason to stay away and the excitement of returning to clinical practice, I am one of the many student nurses who opted-in because I could and I wanted to. However, many colleagues of mine across the country have different stories and circumstances that meant only one of the two options was applicable, to opt-out. I am certain many made this decision with tears in their eyes, heavy hearts and a heavy weight on their shoulders. They may have kept asking themselves ‘why can’t I opt-in? I want to be there to help.

I recall a theme that emerged in many discussions during the peak of this pandemic alluding to the fact that while the invitation in past world wars was to mobilise and join the front line, now, some of the bravest of us have to decide to stay away- and that requires courage. It is not just about the courage to run into a burning furnace, it is also about a conscious decision to ensure one does not return home in a suit of flames when those around have no water to quench them - that can be more devastating.

If there is one thing I have learnt from this pandemic, it is the reality that learning never stops. The words of Alvin Toffler drive this home a little further: “The illiterate of the 21st century will not be those who cannot read and write, but those who cannot learn, unlearn and relearn. Along with COVID-19 has come significant suspension of some care services resulting in redeployment of staff: dental nurses have been drafted into the medical wards while some surgical nurses and their surgeons have been deployed to intensive care. The key to thriving in these new roles is continual learning.

Therefore, to our colleagues continuing with theory and unable to go into practice for whatever reason, neither feel guilty nor be ashamed. Instead, challenge yourself that each day will be a journey of discovery: read about a new medication, treatment regimen or health policy. Explore the evidence-base for an existing therapy. Simply, make consistent and intentional decisions to broaden the scope of your knowledge while out of practice. Nursing as a career should not become boring, thus if it does, the questions you want to ask yourself is ‘am I still learning? Am I still growing?’

Certainly, even though clinical practice is more hands-on arguably, it is informed by many theoretical underpinnings. So don't walk with your heads down, walk heads up, shoulders straight and chest out. Your choice is respected and applauded.

Sylvester Odame-Amoabeng is an adult nursing student at King’s College London, who has chosen to do paid placement during the COVID19 pandemic.


62 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page